Sweet Potato Scones

On rainy, cold, and blustery afternoons, a switch flicks in my mind that whispers “bake.” This is what one afternoon last week whispered to me (as proof, included are photos of my very damp courtyard), and I listened (as I nearly always do). I truly love baking – there’s something magical and exciting about it, something unknown and hidden and exciting. I also love the rhythm of baking, the methods you follow like well-practiced dance routines.

And, since I love baking, and since I would do it everyday if I could (in reality, I probably bake 3 times a week), my baking tends to be on the healthier side, wheat-free, low on dairy and sugar. Some might think that to achieve this without compromising on flavour or texture is an impossible dream, but I say codswallop! Of course it’s possible! All you have to do is be prepared to think a little outside the box (which is fun, and makes baking more fun – yes, it is possible to make baking more fun. Believe me.)

So, it is my pleasure to introduce you to Harry Eastwood’s book Red Velvet & Chocolate HeartacheAfter borrowing my wonderful friend Ashleigh’s copy, this book is now at the top of my cookbook shopping list – every recipe, bar one, has some sort of vegetable in it. She also endeavours to reduce sugar, and fat, but never compromises on flavour or texture – my sort of recipe! (I’ve actually become a little obsessed with this book, and have since cooked another 3 recipes from it – all were fantastic). These scones were the perfect pick-me-up for a drizzly afternoon – scone-y, crumbly goodness. Perfect with a little smear of honey on top.

Sweet potato and golden syrup scones

makes 7

It’s important to grate the sweet potato as finely as possible, and only right before you need it. I’m sure you could also substitute honey for the golden syrup quite happily.

  • 250 g light spelt flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon bicarb soda
  • 40 g unsalted butter, cold and cubed
  • 3 tablespoons golden syrup
  • 200 g peeled and finely grated sweet potato
  • finely grated zest of 1/2 lemon

Preheat oven to 200ºC/400ºF. Line a baking tray with baking paper.

Place flour, baking powder, bicarb soda in a food processor and pulse a couple of times to combine. Add the butter and pulse until the consistency of fine breadcrumbs is reached. Pour golden syrup on to the breadcrumby mixture, add the sweet potato and zest. Pulse until it all comes together and forms a damp dough.

Tip dough onto a lightly-floured surface and knead lightly until it becomes easier to handle.

Roll out to ~4 cm thick, and cut with a 6 cm round metal cookie cutter, and place on the baking sheet.

Bake in the middle of the oven for 12-15 minutes, until risen and golden.

Adapted from Red Velvet & Chocolate Heartache by Harry Eastwood.

One thought on “Sweet Potato Scones

Leave a Reply

