crochet: blankets, blankets

blankets1 blankets2 blankets3 blankets4

Two months down, two blankets complete! No, really, I’m not doing a blanket a month challenge, but from these, it might look like that! I’m really happy with these blankets! So, so pleased. The horizontal-striped blanket was the first large crochet project I’ve ever (!) finished, after aborted a mega zigzag blanket and unraveling and recycling the wool into this blanket. It’s (a large) throw-sized blanket, and it looks super lovely on our cherry red sofa.

The green zigzag blanket I made for our niece’s birthday (which isn’t until July, oh well, at least I don’t have to stress about a present now!). And I’m absolutely smitten with it – I’ll have to restrain myself from stealing it! I love that it matches her personality – strong, feisty, fresh, and bold. I’m planning to make blankets for our remaining two nieces and nephew for their birthdays over the next year, and it’s going to be so much fun picking colours and designs for them.

It is pouring cats and dogs here today, our courtyard is steadily filling with rain, all the leaves are heavy with water. A good day to practice my knitting and roast some vegetables, before out to the movies with friends tonight.

Happy Saturday!

Update: You can find me on Ravelry! Here.

One thought on “crochet: blankets, blankets

  1. Those are beautiful!!

    If you ever do crafting for charity we’d love to have you join Homespun Helpers. We are a bunch of crafters like you and we’re trying to make and donate 3,000 items for charity this year. Any charity counts. All you have to do is post a picture of what you made and say where it’s going 🙂 And you can make smaller items than blankets!

    Check us out if you feel like it: facebook.com/homespunhelpers13

    Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

