diy: lavender bath bombs

bathbombs2

bathbombs3

Hello there!

So, somewhere in the depths of last weekend, I discovered design*sponge’s diy thread. Oh boy, do they have some great stuff in there! These little bath bombs immediately caught my eye – I love bath bombs (they’re so much fun – I can clearly remember the first bath bomb I ever got from Lush – it was blue with a map of the world in green – cool, right?!?!), but sometimes the cost just kills me. $6 for a bath?! You gotta be kidding me.

(That being said, I love getting bath bombs from Lush as presents, so, uh, if you ever feel like getting me a present!)

For my first foray into homemade bath bombs, I decided to go with lavender, because it’s good, and that’s undeniable. My mum has put in an order for ones scented with ylang ylang, so I’ll have to find some pretty petals to throw in as well. Also, I halved the amount in the link (and it still made four big bath bombs!).

I think they’re going to make lovely little presents for people (or for myself). An indulgence that is handmade and free of nasties (not to mention made from ingredients that are inexpensive and probably at your grocery store), is most definitely an indulgence I can get behind!

What you’ll need:

  • 1/8 cup citric acid
  • 1 1/4 cup bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 cup Epsom salts
  • Lavender essential oil
  • 2 tbsp dried lavender buds
  • Witch hazel
  • Silicone heart-shaped mould (you could use any shape, but silicone is best I think)
  • Spray bottle (filled with the witch hazel)

bathbombs1

How to do it:

  1. Combine the citric acid, bicarb soda, Epsom salts and lavender buds in a large mixing bowl. Mix thoroughly (I found my hands work best to get all the lumps out).
  2. Drop in 3-4 drops of lavender essential oil. Mix well again (the oil will want to clump, so for consistent scent this step is important).
  3. With the spray bottle in one hand, start spraying the mixture with the witch hazel, while mixing with your other hand. Go slowly – you don’t want the whole mixture to get too wet and start fizzing (hence ruining the fun), but you want to get it just damp enough so that it starts clumping together when you squeeze it.
  4. Pack the bath bomb mixture firmly into the mould. Leave to dry overnight.
  5. Carefully remove bath bombs from the mould. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

