iced tea mixology

IMG_5195I’d like to say we’re tea-enthusiasts in our household, but really, we’re tea-crazies. Hot, cold, sugar, honey, morning, afternoon, and night. There are few things a really good cup of tea can’t fix, or at least put in perspective. In the photo above, clockwise from bottom left, you’ve got Ruby Red Rosehip, Black Rose, Honey Vanilla, Peppermint, and Vanilla Mint. (This is just a selection of our collection…we also usually have a plain black tea, a Chinese green tea, and a chai in rotation too.)

IMG_5185 IMG_52291. Ruby Red Rosehip with blueberries and lemon balm.

Now, if you love tea, I highly, highly recommend you invest in a decent tea jug (pictured above). I use this one (also available here), and from the moment I brought it home, it’s been true love. My preferred brewing method is a cold-brew or sun-brew: fill the jug with filtered water, place 4-6 tablespoons of tea into the tea compartment, screw the compartment into the lid, close the jug, give it a good shake, and leave it for 2-4 hours (either on your kitchen bench or outside in the sun) depending on how strong you’d like your tea to be.

That’s it! No hot water, no trying to cool hot tea. Once it’s brewed, all you have to do is pour over ice, and add any extras you desire. Most of the teas I’ve shown here are herbal or caffeine free (which I prefer because when I make iced tea, I drink a lot!), but you can make iced tea with practically any loose-leaf or bagged tea. I thought I’d share a few of my favourites, with ideas for making them even more special.

IMG_5246

2. Honey Vanilla with cloudy apple juice and lime.

IMG_5236

3. Black Rose with lemon.

IMG_52004. Vanilla Mint Virgin Mojito (lime juice and fresh mint).

Ideas for extras:

  • Lemon, lime, orange juice and slices (any citrus really, depending on the flavour of your tea)
  • Fresh berries
  • Apple slices
  • Fresh mint, lemon balm
  • Apple juice
  • Sparkling mineral water
  • Cranberry or pomegranate juice
  • Honey or maple syrup
  • Other fruit: peaches, pineapple, melon, etc

Whose to say, in fact, that you can’t mix different flavours of iced tea? No one! My favourite stall at the markets on a Sunday is the iced tea man, whose mix of Jasmine and Peppermint is amazing.

I make iced tea very regularly, it’s so refreshing, and in the hot weather, there is nothing I’d rather drink. If you don’t like drinking plain water it’s a great way to stay hydrated, and much better for you than soft drink or straight fruit juices. I also love to make them when I’m having friends over – it’s such a good non-alcoholic alternative to have on hand.

Well, that’s my manifesto of iced tea mixology! I’d love to hear about your tea experiences, or if you have any more ideas – I’m all about sharing the tea-love!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “iced tea mixology

Leave a Reply

