it almost feels like autumn

autumn2Well, as much as we get autumn here in Brisbane, it almost feels like it’s here. The days are getting shorter and the nights cooler. I am so SO looking forward to winter, but I don’t want to let autumn rush by too quickly. Feeling inspired by Kaylah at The Dainty Squid’s list of seasonal goals, I decided to think about the things I’d like to achieve this autumn.

autumn3 autumn1

My goals for autumn 2013:

Watch at least 4 Studio Ghibli films. I’m really excited for this goal! I’ve only seen My Neighbour Totoro, and Spirited Away, so I must watch some more! I love the stories and animation – it’s just wonderful. I’ve got Kiki’s Delivery Service, Ponyo, and a few more on my radar.

Take more photos. I’ve really enjoyed using my camera more lately, and I’d like that to continue. I’d also like to use my camera more outside of my house – I’ve developed a bit of a phobia about taking photos in public, so I’d definitely like to conquer that.

Finish off current projects. I realised during the week that I had 5 (!) current projects, and with full-time study that’s just way too much! So I’d like to spend some time finishing off all the little things I’ve got going. Moving forward, I’m definitely going to limit myself to one project at a time.

Knit a beanie. Obviously once I’ve accomplished the last goal! This will be a good way to practice my knitting and use up some of the spare wool I have around.

Work on making my study a wonderful place to work. I’d like to migrate from the couch when I’m from home to my actual desk, which means figuring out a way to make our office a nicer place to work.

Clean up our garden. I’ve started making inroads on this goal already, but there is still a lot of weeding to do, and I think our soil needs some work. Once that’s done, I’d like to plant some vegetables and more herbs.

That’s it! I’m really looking forward to the weather cooling down, tights and jumpers coming out of the closet, and lots of soups and stews. Happy Autumn!

 

Leave a Reply

