sewing: bunting canopy

bunting2

Today, for you my friends, I’ve got some photos of a project that I’m so in love with, and absolutely thrilled with the results. A bunting bed canopy! In an effort to start using up my rather large collection of craft/sewing supplies (I’m an obsessive hoarder of fabric scraps!), I decided to make some bunting in order to use up all the little bits and pieces of fabric that I had stored away.

bunting3

bunting1I have to say, I’m so happy with the results! It was a very easy project – the only annoying part was turning all the flags right side out and ironing them – which you could probably complete in a weekend, depending on the size of your fabric collection. Bonus: this project should probably be free, I didn’t spend anything to make it, as I already had all the fabric, thread, etc that I needed. Free interior decoration? Most certainly!

I secured the bunting to the ceiling using removable adhesive hooks, so there’ll be no damage to the paint. I love the brightness and colour that it brings into our bedroom, which was looking a little plain before. I’ve still got a few leftover flags and binding tape, so I’m thinking I’ll make a few more strips as gifts.

bunting4

Also, my favourite pillowcases! These were embroider by my great-grandmother (Nanny Kay), and I inherited them when she passed away. They’re so beautiful, and I love them to death. One day, when the case itself wears out, I think I’m going to save the embroidery and frame it. I can’t tell you how special it is to have something that was made by Nanny Kay, that I’ll have forever.

I hope you’re having a lovely day!

2 thoughts on “sewing: bunting canopy

Leave a Reply

