zucchini spaghetti with sun-dried tomato and cashew sauce

zucchini spaghetti for two

If there’s been one meal, above all others, that I have missed since going gluten free, it’s pasta. Holy shit. Pasta is comfort food; is when-you’re-sick food; was THE meal I ordered at restaurants. I know good gluten free pastas exist, but I’ve never found one I’ve loved.

And then, I picked up a beautiful new book The Green Kitchen (from the writers of the equally beautiful blog), and saw this recipe, and it went straight to the top of my list. Zucchini can be noodles?! Consider me intrigued.

spaghetti components
cashews for saucin'
prepared zucchini slices

I was not disappointed. Zucchini noodles are the closest ‘noodle’ to regular spaghetti I’ve found (even Adam agreed, really, and he’s a skeptic). And the sundried tomato and cashew sauce is ridiculously good. I ate it with a spoon. (I imagine it as an excellent dip for raw veggies.)

The Green Kitchen is a truly gorgeous book, full of recipes that I want to make. I’m also in love with the photography and design (a must for cookbooks), so I thought I’d share a few photos from the inside.

the green kitchen 1
the green kitchen 2
the green kitchen 3

I couldn’t find any mushrooms worth eating at the markets (which David and Luisa serve with the noodles in the book), so went for avocado and parsley instead (creamy avocado – in some weird way = vegan version of mozzarella slices. amazing).

Next time, I’d add even more parsely (we’re parsley freaks round here), and even though it ruins the raw-tasticness of the dish, some toasted almonds/pinenuts/pepitas. This dish is all about texture for me, and flavour too. Garnishing with chewy strips of sundried tomato is a also must. (I think you could also make this work with a basil pesto that’s on the runny side, perhaps with a few fresh tomatoes tossed through.)

Even though it’s practically winter here, this was hearty and satisfying. Having said that, however, I’m looking forward to enjoying in on a summer evening, after a 32 degree day, with a vat of iced tea. Divine!

zucchini spaghetti

Zucchini Spaghetti with Sun-dried Tomato and Cashew Sauce

serves 4 slightly hungry people or 2 very hungry people

Recipe Notes:

  • If you’ve got a julienne slicer, or mandoline, go for it. Otherwise, time to practise your knife skills (which is also handy, really).

Ingredients

  • 2 large zucchini
  • 1 cup cashews, soaked in water for 6 hours or overnight
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 200 g (~1 cup) sun-dried tomatoes, drained of oil and roughly chopped, a few reserved whole for garnishing
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 1 handful parsley leaves, roughly chopped

Using a julienne slicer (or your wicked knife skills), slice the zucchini thinly lengthwise to form your noodles. In a blender, combine drained cashews, zest, juice, garlic, oil, and sun-dried tomatoes. Blend until creamy and relatively smooth. Season to taste. Toss zucchini noodles with sauce and 3/4 of the parsley. Arrange on plates, topped with avocado, slices of the reserved sun-dried tomatoes, and the remaining parsley. Serve with plenty of freshly cracked black pepper. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “zucchini spaghetti with sun-dried tomato and cashew sauce

Leave a Reply

