almond + chickpea felafels

almond + chickpea felafel

Ok, so you’re getting into the healthier side of things. You’ve started making your own nut milk (Yay you! That’s awesome!), which is pretty rad. But the sight of all that nut pulp going to waste hurts your inner-recycling genie. Well have I got the recipe for you: almond and chickpea felafel.

I know the universe has been going a little crazy for nut-based felafels lately, and they’re delicious to be sure. But, I wanted to challenge myself to use that bag of frozen almond pulp that’s been sitting in my freezer for months (because I couldn’t bring myself to throw it away). I’ve tried making nut-hummus (but didn’t fall in love with it) and I’ve even made my own almond meal by drying the pulp slowly in the oven (extremely delicious, but a little time consuming and the meal doesn’t have the shelf life of store-bought versions). So with several felafel ideas doing the laps around my brain, out came these babies. And aren’t they tasty.

And versatile! I threw these on top of salads, Adam put them in sandwiches, and I even popped a couple in my mouth for an afternoon snack. Also – the sauces you could serve these with are endless. How about: garlicky tahini, hummus, pesto, coriander cashew cream, creamy dill dressing, or a chunky tomato relish? There’s a lot you can do with them, and I think that’s a big part of their charm for me!

Need I even mention their stellar protein content? And wonderful fats? Since first making this version, I’ve also done a super herby mix (with loads of parsley, coriander and mint), which also turned out great. These felafels are a blank (but not bland) canvas for you to make your own. If you do, I’d love to hear your take on them!

Big felafel-y love X

in the processor
rolled felafel
felafel time
baked felafels
a simple serving suggestion

Almond and Chickpea Felafels

makes about 12

Recipe notes

  • I’m pretty sure almost any nut pulp would work here in place of almond, but I can’t vouch for them.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond nut pulp
  • 1.5 cups cooked chickpeas (canned is fine)
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp coriander seeds
  • handful of fresh coriander leaves
  • 1/2 red onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tsp chilli flakes
  • 1 tbsp tahini (I used unhulled, but hulled would work fine too)
  • 3 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp nigella seeds
  • sea salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 175 C (350 F) no fan, and line a baking tray with baking paper. Combine chia seeds with 3 tbsp hot water and whisk to combine. Set aside for 5-10 minutes to form a gel. In a food processor, combine garlic, onion, coriander leaves, cumin seeds and coriander seeds. Process until finely chopped. Add pulp, tahini, chickpeas and chia gel. Season to taste. Process to combine – you may have to scrape down the sides a few times.

In a bowl, combine sesame and nigella seeds. Roll the felafel mixture into balls with your hands, then roll them in the seed mix to coat. Refrigerate for 30 minutes, or until required. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until the felafels are crisp on the outside and golden brown.

8 thoughts on “almond + chickpea felafels

  1. OH MY! This is the best idea I’ve seen in a very very long time! I always feel so guilty about all the pulp after juicing and have also tried a few hummus recipes (to no real exciting results). I haven’t made almond milk in awhile but this post has inspired me to get back on the bandwagon this week!!

  2. Falafel are my all time favourite. I use nut pulp regularly for them too and they add some kind of intense magic to the mix. A kind of moisture than can sometimes lack in straight up chickpea balls. I’m even soaking some chickpeas now! Hooray for falafel! LOVE you photos by the way xxx

  3. Wow, thats a brilliant idea to use almond pulp! Your falafel looks delicious – love the seeds on top/ must be giving nice crunch to it- great clicks too. Good job here!

Leave a Reply

